Kalpana Kalpana

1997 Umbria and Marche earthquake

Updated on
Share on FacebookTweet on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Magnitude  6.1 Mw
Areas affected  Italy (Umbria, Marche)
Date  26 September 1997
Depth  10 km (6.2 mi)
Casualties  11 dead 100 injured
1997 Umbria and Marche earthquake httpsuploadwikimediaorgwikipediacommonsthu
Similar  1980 Irpinia earthquake, 2002 Molise earthquake, 2009 L'Aquila earthquake, August 2016 Central It, 1976 Friuli earthquake

The 1997 Umbria and Marche earthquake occurred in the regions of Umbria and Marche, central Italy on the morning of September 26. It was preceded by a foreshock almost as strong as the main quake. The foreshock occurred at 02:33 CEST (00:33 UTC), rated 5.7 on the Richter scale, and the second – the main shock – occurred at 11:40 CEST (09:40 UTC), rated 6.1 on the Richter scale. Their epicentre was in Annifo.

There were several thousands of foreshocks and aftershocks from May 1997 to April 1998, more than thirty of which had a Richter magnitude more than 3.5. Eleven people are known to have died following the shocks.

List of foreshocks and aftershocks

Only shocks (both foreshocks and aftershocks) with magnitude 5.0 or higher are listed. Shocks with magnitude 5.5 or higher are highlighted in light blue. The main shock with magnitude 6.1 Mw is highlighted in dark blue.

References

1997 Umbria and Marche earthquake Wikipedia


Similar Topics
1976 Friuli earthquake
1980 Irpinia earthquake
2002 Molise earthquake
Topics